Team LeBron captain LeBron James threw it at the 2022 NBA All-Star Game.

of NBA all-star game In the year It’s February 19th. And until that night, no one knew the star roster.

Not even the players themselves.

The team captains — perhaps the Los Angeles Lakers’ LeBron James and either Milwaukee’s Giannis Antetokounmpo or Brooklyn’s Kevin Durant — will make their selections during a live, televised pregame segment shortly before the game begins in Salt Lake City.

The NBA and National Basketball Players Association announced the format change on Tuesday night.

This is the sixth time the league has used a format where captains select their squads, but in the first five occasions the roster was chosen before match days.

The captains and starters will be announced on Thursday.

James has been a captain for the first five years and according to the results of the voting released by the league last weekend, he is sure to be one this year. Leading voice He will receive the right to be a centurion from both the Eastern and Western congregations.

Durant was the early leader among players in the East, then fell slightly behind Antetokounmpo in the most recent voting. He’s still expected to be voted in as a starter, and it won’t be known until Thursday if he regains the East voting lead in the final days.

Ballots were submitted Saturday to determine starters.

“I want to play,” Durant told reporters in New York on Tuesday. “I want to be a part of all these events.”

James’ teams are 5-0 in All-Star games as captain.

Durant has been a captain in each of the past two years leading the Eastern Conference. Antetokounmpo was in the last two years, 2019 and 2020.

The top three frontcourt players and two best guards in each conference are selected as starters, with the leading vote-getters from each conference serving as captains and selecting their teams.

Fan voting counts for 50% of the starters, media votes count for 25% and votes cast by NBA players count for the other 25%.

Reserves — selected by NBA coaches, seven players from each conference — will be revealed Feb. 2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *